NEWS We are recruiting volunteers for mirxes Nations Cup 2023!


Netball Singapore announces National Squad for the M1 Asian Netball Championships 2018

Five new players made the squad for the 2019 world cup regional qualifier 

18 May 2018, Singapore – Netball Singapore is proud to announce the national squad of 17 for the M1 Asian Netball Championships (M1 ANC) which is set to take place from 1 to 9 September. A provisional squad of 14 is also selected for a training tour in Sri Lanka. 

Top Row (L-R): Nur Aqilah Andin, Melody Teo, Tan Xin Yi, Chen Lili, Lee Pei Shan, Charmaine Soh, Siti Nurshawallah, Toh Kai Wei, Vanessa Lee (Captain)

Bottom Row: Amelia Wijendra, Ayshath Zaseela, Khor Ting Fang, Nurul Baizura, Sindhu Nair, Zhang Ailin, Kimberly Lim
Absent: Shina Teo
Following their standout performances at the M1 Netball Super League (M1 NSL) 2018, several new players have been invited to trial with the 2017 squad and 5 fresh players have made the cut. 
18-year-old Lee Pei Shan earned her spot in the senior squad after impressing the National selectors at the M1 NSL playing for the champions, Blaze Dolphins. Standing at 1.86m tall, Lee, a goal-shooter, will provide height and build for Singapore inside the shooting circle. 
The squad also welcomes 21-year-old young shooter from the Fier Orcas, Tan Xin Yi who put in a goal average of 95% at the M1 NSL. Tan was one of the most consistent shooters in the M1 NSL and won the MVP award for her team.
Midcourt player Amelia Wijendra from the SRC Barracudas also made the squad. Wijendra is quick on her feet and offers speed in her play.
Defenders Ayshath Zaseela, a 19-year-old player from the SRC Barracudas and Khor Ting Fang from the Blaze Dolphins are selected too. Zaseela, Khor and Lee together with Toh Kai Wei and Aqilah Andin, were part of the youth side which won the 2017 Asian Youth Championships. 
The M1 ANC is the second major tournament for National Head Coach, Natalie Milicich, whose team finished 2nd runners-up at the 2017 Mission Foods Nations Cup. 
“I am really excited about this ‘new look’ team. We have a younger side with some size and enthusiasm that will contribute to building a strong team culture.  Change brings new challenges for players and new opportunities to grow. I really trust these players to do the job and we will be working very hard on our structures and combinations in preparation for a successful campaign at the M1 Asian Netball Championships,” said Milicich.
The squad will be led by the experienced trio of captain Vanessa Lee, Nurul Baizura and Charmaine Soh, who have amassed a total of 283 international caps among themselves.
A provisional squad of 14 has also been chosen to travel to Sri Lanka for a training stint from 26 May to 1 June. The training tour will give Milicich’s charges the opportunity to match up against the Asian rivals. 
The national squad also has a training tour from 7 to 14 July which will have them heading down under to Auckland, New Zealand to train against ANZ Premiership side, Northern Mystics and Beko Netball League team, Northern Marvels. The teams will provide the Singapore players the challenge of playing against bigger bodies who are used to playing regularly at a high intensity.  
The M1 ANC 2018 is the regional qualifier for the Netball World Cup in Liverpool in 2019 and the top two teams qualify for the world event. Singapore finished second runners-up at the 2016 Asian Netball Championships after champions Malaysia and runners-up, Sri Lanka, when it was held in Bangkok, Thailand. 
Sri Lanka has won the ANC four times since its inception in 1985. Singapore has won it three times, Malaysia twice and Hong Kong once. The 11th edition of the Asian tournament will see 11 to 12 countries competing at the OCBC Arena, Singapore Sports Hub.

M1 Asian Netball Championships Squad

NoNameInternational CapsAgeHeight (cm)Positions
1Vanessa Lee (Captain)8934170C/WD/GD
2Nurul Baizura10428172C/WD/GD
3Charmaine Soh9028177GA/GS
4Kimberly Lim6523162WA/C
5Nur Aqilah Andin5322174GD/WD/GK
6Melody Teo3626176GK/GD/WD
7Toh Kai Wei1521170GA/GS
8Siti Nurshawallah825172WD/C/WA
9Sindhu Nair022173GK
10Lee Pei Shan*018186GS
11Tan Xin Yi*021179GS
12Khor Ting Fang*021170GD/WD/GK
13Amelia Wijendra*023157C/WA
14Ayshath Zaseela*019170GD/WD
15Chen Lili7528196GK/GS
16Shina Teo3022172GK/GD
17Zhang Ailin2230167GA/WA