NEWS We are recruiting volunteers for mirxes Nations Cup 2023!


Synergy the Key to Success for Singapore at the 10th Asian Netball Championships

SINGAPORE, 29 June 2016 – Netball Singapore is pleased to announce the 12 players who will fly the nation’s flag at the 10th Asian Netball Championship when the tournament begins in 30 July to 7 August 2016. This year, the reigning champions will be led by Captain Vanessa Lee, with Nurul Baizura and Charmaine Soh as Co-Vice Captains.

The team boasts a strong line-up of players, showcasing a mix of experience in Vanessa Lee, Nurul Baizura and Charmaine Soh alongside tournament debutants, 25 year-old, Josephine Yeo and 28 year-old, Zhang Ailin.

Lee last don the nation’s colours in 2012 during the Asian Championships where Singapore clinched the gold medal in Sri Lanka. Lee has two Asian titles to her belt and a wealth of experience in her, having played in two world cups in 2007 and 2011 as well as four Nations Cup.

Yeo and Zhang caught the eye of National Coach, Ruth Aitken, during the M1 Netball Super League and did well at the Fiji training tour to win their spots in the team.

Commenting on the team selection Aitken said “We’ve selected a very well-balanced team to represent us at the Asian Championships this year. While we are in a transitional phase, we feel that the mix of players will form a good synergy and help build strong foundations for the team moving forward.”

At the Championships, Singapore hopes to successfully defend their title, and in the process equal the record for most number of Asian Championship wins, bringing them on par with 4-time winners, Sri Lanka.

Speaking of the team’s chances Captain Vanessa Lee said “The team is confident ahead of the tournament in Bangkok. We’ve been training together for a while now and preparations have gone according to plan. We certainly believe that we have what it takes to step up to perform to our potential, and hope for a positive performance next month.”

The 10th Asian Netball Championships will take place at the National Stadium in Bangkok, Thailand from 30th July to 7th August 2016 where current defending champion, Singapore, will face teams from Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei, Brunei, Japan, Thailand, Maldives, and Afghanistan.

Team List

No.NamePositionInternational Cap
1Vanessa Lee (Captain)GD/GK57
2Nurul Baizura (co-Vice Captain)C/WD71
3Charmaine Soh (co-Vice Captain)GA/GS/WA57
4Yu Mei LingGS/GA30
5Pamela LiewGA/WA16
6Zhang AilinGA/WA0
7Kimberly LimWA/C32
8Parveen NairWD/GD/C6
9Josephine YeoC/WD0
10Chen LiliGK/GS51
11Shina TeoGK/GD5
12Aqilah AndinWD/GD/GK25