NEWS We are recruiting volunteers for mirxes Nations Cup 2023!


Netball Singapore Name Final Team for the 2015 Sea Games

Netball Singapore today announced the final team of 12 players selected for the SEA Games 2015 after an extensive training and selection process.

The final team was selected from an initial squad of 21 players and 4 training partners following the conclusion of the Netball Super League (NSL) in February 2015. The squad was then trimmed to 14 players for the final training tour to Fiji from 14th to 22nd April, playing in matches against Fiji and Papua New Guinea, before the selectors decided on the final 12 players.

Eight players of this final team were members of the 2014 Asian Netball Championships team which won the gold medal. Four other players complete the team, with national squad player Pamela Liew making the cut, Shelby Koh earning a recall to the national team after an absence of a year (she was away for her studies in Sydney), Yasmin Ho getting her opportunity to represent Singapore after strong performances for her club in the Netball Super League and Shina Teo earning her first call up from the 21 & Under squad to the national team.

Ms. Jessica Tan, President of Netball Singapore, was especially proud of what has been achieved. She said, “Ruth has done an excellent job with the national opens squad. She has brought in many talented players with an eye on the future. I’m confident that under Ruth’s guidance, the team will outdo themselves and perform at their very best in front of our home supporters. I urge all Singaporeans to come forward to support our team in our quest to win the Gold.”

National Coach, Ruth Aitken explained her choice, “The entire squad has been outstanding in the build-up to the SEA Games. They have been so motivated and driven in training and on the final tour. The selectors had difficult decisions to make in selecting the final 12 but we are confident that we now have the best possible team at this point in time to meet the challenges of the opposing teams in the SEA Games.”

Captain Micky Lin Qingyi and co-vice captains Chen Huifen and Nurul Baizura will once again lead the team in their quest for gold.

The team also includes veteran, Premila Hirubalan, the only member of the team that competed in the 2001 SEA Games. Hirubalan, who currently has 97 international caps, will be looking to achieve her centurion of caps during the SEA Games. The only player to have achieved this feat in Netball Singapore’s history is Jean Ng, our former national captain.

“It would be special to me personally as I was in the team that got Silver back in 2001, the only other time netball has been in the SEA Games. It would be special winning it with this team, and to win it at home, in front of all Singaporeans, would be a treasured moment for the rest of my life,” said Hirubalan.

Six countries have confirmed their entries – Brunei, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand and host Singapore.

Singapore opens its campaign on 31st May against Brunei, followed by Thailand, before meeting their closest rivals, Malaysia on 2nd June. Following games against Philippines and Myanmar, all teams will enjoy a rest day on 5th June and to attend the Opening Ceremony. The top four teams meet in the semi-finals on 6th June and the finals on 7th June at the OCBC Arena Hall 1, Singapore Sports Hub. A gold medal, silver medal and two bronze medals (joint 3rd) will be awarded to the top 4 teams. 

Following the conclusion of the SEA Games, the opens squad will regroup and go through another series of selection trials with the team for the Netball World Cup to be selected and announced in mid-June. The Netball World Cup takes place in Sydney, Australia from 7th to 16th August.

No.NameInternational Caps
1Micky Lin Qingyi (Captain)82
2Chen Huifen (Co-Vice Captain)94
3Nurul Baizura (Co-Vice Captain)51
4Ang Shiqi15
5Charmaine Soh37
6Chen Lili34
7Ho Xiu Xiu Yasmin1
8Kimberly Lim12
9Pamela Liew3
10Premila Hirubalan97
11Shelby Koh27
12Shina Teo0